This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.
See all hotels in Visby, Sweden
  • The distinctive Kitchen & Table restaurant at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • The entrance of the Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • The facade of the Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Luxurious and comfortable family suite at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Spacious and stylish superior double hotel room at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Tranquil pool area at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • The Kitchen & Table restaurant at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • The stylish interior design of the Kitchen & Table restaurant at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Spacious and well-furnished lobby at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Having a drink in the living room bar at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Double moderate hotel room at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • State-of the art and fashionable hotel suite at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Tranquil lobby at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Comfortable and peaceful lobby at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Elegant hallway at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Distinctive deluxe twin room at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • The Kopparsalen facade at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Green and spacious outdoor area at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Outdoor event at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Lunch served with a smile at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • Large and open lounge area at Wisby Hotel in Visby
  • The Koppersalen lounge at Wisby Hotel in Visby

Clarion Hotel Wisby

Visby,  Sweden

Clarion Hotel® Wisby boasts a personal touch, unique history and atmosphere, centrally located inside Visby's city wall. We have 212 rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a party floor, Wisby SPA, Kitchen & Table restaurant and Gotland's most committed staff.

Clarion Hotel Wisby 4.5 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  
Clarion Hotel Wisby

87% of travellers recommend this hotel

Based on 679 traveller reviews
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Value
4.5
Service
5
Location
4.5
Rooms
1

Three different rooms in two nights

Thursday, November 03, 2016, Stockholm, Sweden, Schneeflocken1

My husband and I had a terrible stay in this hotel. I decided to share my experiences with the hotel manager directly on the 9th of August and have yet to recieve any reply at all, so feel compelled t…

My husband and I had a terrible stay in this hotel. I decided to share my experiences with the hotel manager directly on the 9th of August and have yet to recieve any reply at all, so feel compelled to share my experiences here. My husband and I arrived Friday (5th of August) night, having booked a moderate room as it was the only one available. The picture on the website and description of it being a queen bed made it seem like it should be quite big enough, although I wasn't expecting anything large. I didn't expect to arrive and find a bed so small that it only had two pillows (or big, one small) in the centre of the bed making it look like it was a single, as well as only one towel and no bathmat. It was clear the room had been made up for just one person. I've never seen such a small bed intended for two people. We went to reception to see if any bigger rooms were available - we would have been happy to pay to upgrade (as we were constantly informed we could do via email before our arrival), but sadly none were. We asked if a spare bed could be sent up, but none were available, however we were given a thin mattress (maybe 2 cm thick) so my husband could sleep on the floor - a first for him in a hotel. We then had to call to request another towel, and also another pillow and blanket. Then my husband stepped on a shard of glass that was on the floor - luckily he was not cut too badly. As you can expect, none of this really gave us an excellent impression of the hotel. The next morning we changed to a bigger room - which seemed fine. However, this is my biggest issue: We fell asleep and were woken at midnight with our room vibrating from music being played at the wedding - apparently directly under us. The music was so loud our bed was shaking and the water in my glass was bouncing up and down. It felt like I was in a night club. It was so loud it was beyond ridiculous. I called reception and was told we could move rooms - an absolutely ridiculous thing to have to do when you have just been woken up in shock and are half asleep - but obviously there was no other option as I even had earplugs in at the time and was still woken up. The night manager seemed frustrated and said we should never have been put in that room because this problem was known. We managed to get to sleep around 2am. So for the second night in a row, in what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend, we were exhausted, frustrated and annoyed. I appreciate that we were refunded for our stay, but one of the most frustrating things about the whole experience was how patronizing the staff member was who checked us out on Sunday morning (and who had also been working on the front desk Friday night). As we checked out and outlined our frustration she just smirked at us and only said sorry in a halfhearted manner when I said I felt that this was being treated like a joke. She was also incredibly unfriendly on Friday when we asked if another room was available, again, treating it like it was funny. Luckily the other staff member working on Friday evening was incredibly kind and helpful. I find it inconceivable that if staff were aware of the music being a serious problem, that they would put someone in that room in the first place. It would have been nice to have received a response from the hotel manager to know that our feedback was received.

Owner Response

Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Dear Mishyroo, Thank you for posting your review, our sincere apologies that your stay did not live up to your expectations, this is not the level of service we aim to provide. I am not sure what email address you sent your feedback to in August. I would therefore appreciate it if you could contact me directly so I we are able to discuss these issues and respond appropriately. My email address is josefine.gudmundson@choice.se. Warm Regards, Josefine Gudmundson Acting Hotel Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby

Read more
4

Good breakfast and a comfy bed but the room could use some love

Thursday, October 20, 2016, Gothenburg, Sweden, Wilhelm W

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay. We got a "superior room" which had a nice size, a group of sofas and two TVs. However, the room was not that new, the bathroom didn't feel that fresh and…

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay. We got a "superior room" which had a nice size, a group of sofas and two TVs. However, the room was not that new, the bathroom didn't feel that fresh and some parts were about to fall apart. We also heard a noise during night time (a fan?) which wasn't too loud to really bother me, but loud enough to be noticed. The lobby was quite lively during the weekend nights but the room was always quiet (except for the above mentioned noise...). The breakfast was quite good, a good selection. The location was perfect for us, within walking distance of everything we wanted to visit in Visby. The parking cost 150 SEK per night for a closed off parking (no roof). You get a card to get in and out of the parking as much as you need.

Owner Response

Monday, November 07, 2016

Dear Wilhelm, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that you shared your experience! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding the room is very valuable to us, thank you for informing us of your thoughts. For next time, please ask for a room in ur modern part of the hotel, the rooms are newer and have a great standard that we believe you will enjoy! Most welcome back to us in the future! Best Regards, Josefine Gudmundson Acting Hotel Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby

Read more
3

Not quite up to scratch

Thursday, October 20, 2016, Malmo, Sweden, MsWithnail

Location is great, in the middle of breathtaking medieval Visby, and the building is as lovely as its surroundings. We had an enormous room with the most beautiful bathroom, all black-and-white turn o…

Location is great, in the middle of breathtaking medieval Visby, and the building is as lovely as its surroundings. We had an enormous room with the most beautiful bathroom, all black-and-white turn of the century lovelyness with lots and lots of thick, luxurious towels. It must be recently refurbished because the feel to the room was new and fresh. The pillows were absolute masterpieces, all gigantic American luxury. The room has a minibar with icecold beverages, which is fine, and a safe. Sadly, this is were the three-star standard takes over: there are no bathrobes, a must for 4 stars!, the beds are not comfortable and the service is lacking. We were not made to feel welcome by the bartender in the lobby bar, he was outright rude to us, and so was the breakfast waiter in the morning, they closed early (maybe 4 minutes before we came down) and even though there was plenty of food still out, he wouldn't let us eat. Which goes to show that as always, the true mark of excellence is the staff. In a really good hotel they treat the guests as the most important thing in the world.

Owner Response

Monday, November 07, 2016

Dear Ms. Withnail, Thank you for your feedback! We very much appreciate that you shared your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room the surrondings! We agree with you, the pillows are masterpieces, we love them! We truly regret to hear that your experienced a three-star standard. We always strive to provide the best service and as you mention, our guests are most important to us! We are very proud of our lovely associates that usually provide top service. However, we take this very serious and we will follow up to ensure that we always deliver professional and personal experiences for each and every guest. We hope that you will stay with us again in order for us to provide you with the high level service we usually deliver. Please don´t hesitate to contact us at any time! Best Regards, Josefine Gudmundson Acting Hotel Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby

Read more
4

Use the pool area

Tuesday, October 18, 2016, Sala, Sweden, sarne

Old town hotel situated in the middle of everything. Peerfect for strolls around town and visiting restaurants. Nice inside with good atmosphere in the bar area. High ceilings. Don't miss the bath. Ro…

Old town hotel situated in the middle of everything. Peerfect for strolls around town and visiting restaurants. Nice inside with good atmosphere in the bar area. High ceilings. Don't miss the bath. Rooms are small but contains everything you need.

Owner Response

Sunday, November 06, 2016

Dear Sarne, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We truly appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with us! We hope to see you back with us again soon! Best Regards, Josefine Gudmundson Hotel Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby

Read more
3

Barely a 4 star hotel- poor attention to detail

Saturday, October 15, 2016, , Tony G

This only rates a4 star because it's in Sweden, anywhere in North America and this is a 3 star. The room is cramped and dirty- there were many brown marks/stains on the walls and bed curtain in room…

This only rates a4 star because it's in Sweden, anywhere in North America and this is a 3 star. The room is cramped and dirty- there were many brown marks/stains on the walls and bed curtain in room 304. The hotel bar looked very nice, but I couldn't enjoy it as they held a "After work Friday" special where free food is served. The place was PACKED with non-hotel guests. Even the lobby seating was full- I planned on having a relaxed beer but that was impossible. The Spa was very small, and the pool, which was barely warm, is extra 25$ per person. The sauna is in the washrooms so they cannot be shared with my wife- maybe the only gender segregated sauna in Sweden!! A rip off. I'd give this place 2 stars but at least the staff was friendly and I loved Visby itself.

Owner Response

Monday, October 17, 2016

Dear sir, Where to begin:-) We love our Social Fridays! Clarion Hotels in Sweden are famous for being in the heartbeat of the city and we are proud of it. The local community is very important for us and often we attract hotelguests that appreciate this pulse as well. For those who don´t, we have a more quiet bar in our restaurant Kicthen & Table. I´m very sorry that we did not reach you with this information. The SPA is very small indeed, but yet we are very proud of our little relaxing area ad pool under the medievial vaults. We have really tried to reconstruct for common saunas but it is not possible at the moment because of our culture property of high interest listing. We are as sorry as you are about this. We, my friendly staff and I, do hope that we will have the possibilities to wecome you back again. We will give you one of our newest and best rooms and for sure is not friday always:-) Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby

Read more
2.420.112.000 21
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to perform a search. If you'd like to book using a corporate account or your bonus points you do not need a code. The price will be available once you have signed in. Sign in.

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.