This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Avalon Hotel Gothenburg ,  Sweden

See all hotels in Gothenburg, Sweden

Avalon Hotel

Gothenburg,  Sweden

The Avalon Hotel is a feng shui-certified design hotel located in the heart of Gothenburg. Marvel at the unique lighting and design features that create a truly unique atmosphere all throughout the hotel. This is a cash-free hotel.

Avalon Hotel 4.5 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

4.5
1363 reviews
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Value
4.5
Service
5
Location
4.5
Rooms
3

Like an Austen Powers set.

Wednesday, July 10, 2019, Melbourne, Australia, DaleS684

The hotel is very well located. It's fit out is very strange. We were in room 69 which had bright orange furnishing and a circular bed. The hallway is extremely long, not very bright, has pictures of…

The hotel is very well located. It's fit out is very strange. We were in room 69 which had bright orange furnishing and a circular bed. The hallway is extremely long, not very bright, has pictures of naked women on the wall and a very strange wooly skirting board detail. All adds up to a very unsettling introduction to your room. General cleanliness and service is OK.

Owner Response

Thursday, July 11, 2019

Dear DaleS684, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I regret to read that you found the hallway leading up to your room unsettling. We are first and foremost an art and design hotel and wanted something else than the standard straight hallways that every other hotel has. All our furniture are from different designers and some of them are true classics, such as Svanen and the Egg by Arne Jacobsen. Room 69 in particular is one of our most popular rooms, so I guess it's just a matter of taste. Thanks again for your review and we wish you a great summer! Kind regards, Kristoffer Kinnunen Avalon Hotel

Read more
4

Right in the center of town

Wednesday, July 10, 2019, Boras, Sweden, 84marinaw

The hotel is located right in the center of town which is perfect, it's close to everything. The room we had was quite small but very nice with a bathtub in the bedroom! This turned out to be a hit! W…

The hotel is located right in the center of town which is perfect, it's close to everything. The room we had was quite small but very nice with a bathtub in the bedroom! This turned out to be a hit! We could take long hot baths AND watch TV, have a cold drink, look out the window and have a conversation. The bed was super comfy, the breakfast was delishious and offered a lot of opptions, the bar and restaurant are a hit in the evening and the staff is super nice. The only minus was that the rooftop pool was only open between 12 and 6 pm. The pool could have more generous opening hours atleast during summer.

Owner Response

Saturday, July 13, 2019

Dear 84marinaw, Thanks a lot of taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to read that you had an overall great stay and especially that you were able to watch TV whilst enjoying a bath. I understand your thoughts on the opening hours and I'm sorry if you didn't have time to visit the pool. Contact us next time you're coming to Gothenburg and we might be able to give you a good rate on the Penthouse Suite. Staying in the Penthouse Suite gives you exclusive access between 6pm and 12pm the following day. It's worth every penny. :) Kind regards, Kristoffer Kinnunen Avalon Hotel

Read more
5

Always happy always smiling

Monday, June 24, 2019, , Göran H

I have now enjoyed Avalon Hotel and restaurant several times and always left it with pleasure and longing to get back. It is really a great experience - from design, restaurant, location and service.…

I have now enjoyed Avalon Hotel and restaurant several times and always left it with pleasure and longing to get back. It is really a great experience - from design, restaurant, location and service. Nothing at all to complain about - no - that's wrong. I miss "big" tea cups, and if that's the only remark guess how satisfied I am with the rest. Longing to come back!

Owner Response

Friday, June 28, 2019

Dear Göran, Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our design, restaurant, location and service. Hope to welcome you as our guest soon again. Best regards Kamilla Grodzki Hotel Manager Avalon Hotel

Read more
4

Great location

Sunday, June 16, 2019, London, United Kingdom, rookayj

We stayed at the hotel over a weekend for 3 nights. We were in a standard room that faced towards the main street (above the bar/restaurant). On the Friday and Saturday evening, the noise was very lou…

We stayed at the hotel over a weekend for 3 nights. We were in a standard room that faced towards the main street (above the bar/restaurant). On the Friday and Saturday evening, the noise was very loud from outside with thumping music that didn't stop until about 0200. On the Sunday it was extremely peaceful. The room was a reasonable size although it was disappointing not to have any moisturiser included in the bathroom. The breakfast included a good choice of food, I was particularly fond of the shrimp salad. The times for breakfast were great and meant we didn't have to be up too early. The hotel was in a great location, we walked to all the places we wanted to visit. I did attempt a run with the jogging map that was included in the room, but I took a wrong turn. I used the pool once, which was nice and warm and a great feature hanging off the edge of the building! All the staff were helpful and friendly. As we found with most places, the hotel didn't take cash upon check out. It was a great stay for a short break though and I would definitely come back.

Owner Response

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Dear Rookayj, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the breakfast and our staff. Welcome back! Best Regards Kamilla Grodzki Hotel Manager Avalon Hotel

Read more
4

Trendy hotel in a great location

Thursday, June 13, 2019, Bristol, United Kingdom, Blackth0rn

A good sized and modern hotel in a central location, it’s spread across six or seven floors with a pool, small bar and sun terrace on the roof, although it should be noted that the pool is very small,…

A good sized and modern hotel in a central location, it’s spread across six or seven floors with a pool, small bar and sun terrace on the roof, although it should be noted that the pool is very small, really more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool. There was also a bar and restaurant on the ground floor which seemed very popular. We went for one of the rooms on the top floor which included a balcony, and on checking in we were asked if we wanted a room at the front or the rear. Although the front would have offered better views, we went for the rear as we thought it might be a little quieter than facing on to the street at the front. The room was a reasonable size, although certainly not especially large. The bed was two singles pushed together, and although they had fitted a double sheet, there were still two individual single duvets which seemed odd. It was comfortable though. The bathroom included twin sinks (one with a broken plug/stopper) and a wet room that housed a shower and the loo. This meant that you had to be rather careful when showering not to soak the loo roll, or else move it out of the way beforehand. Other facilities included tea/coffee making facilities and a Nespresso machine, although no biscuits, and a safe. Although the rooftop pool closed at 6:00pm, on one evening there was a private party there with loud thumping music, although fortunately this did end by 11:00pm. Breakfast was served in the downstairs restaurant, although rather unusually there was no one to greet and seat you. Thus you had to wander round trying to find a free table, and on some occasions we had to find a member of staff and ask for one to be cleared. The breakfast selection was all help yourself, including hot drinks from a machine. Hot food was limited to just sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs with other choices including cereals, juices, fruit, bread and so on. There was a good selection of cold meat and cheese and this was all pretty good, as well as smoked salmon and a couple of other fish options such as prawns and herrings. Pastry choice was perhaps a little disappointing with no Pan au Chocolate or Danish Pastries for example, but everything that was there was very good. It was also kept well topped up, even at the end of the advertised service times. Overall, I thought this was a pretty decent hotel in a great location, although it did seem a little expensive for the size of the room and it had more of a young party vibe than I expected for something that was fairly upmarket.

Owner Response

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Dear Blackth0rn, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay. Hope to see you soon as our guests again. Best Regards Kamilla Grodzki Hotel Manager Avalon Hotel

Read more

Not a member? Get a discount of up to 25%

Not a member? Sign up to receive our newsletter and get a welcome discount of up to 25%

No, thank you!

Action you performed failed! Try again later.

Not a member? Get a discount of up to 25%
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve en email with great offers

2.564.374.001 28
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.