This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Quality Hotel™ 33 Oslo ,  Norway

See all hotels in Oslo, Norway
  • The iconic facade of the Quality Hotel 33 in Oslo
  • Large hotel hall and elevators at Quality Hotel 33 in Oslo

Quality Hotel™ 33

Oslo,  Norway

The Quality Hotel 33 is a conference hotel located near Økern, 11 minutes from central Oslo on the metro. The hotel has 242 hotel rooms and 17 conference rooms. Enjoy stunning panoramic views from the Top Floor Restaurant & Bar. This is a cash-free hotel.

Quality Hotel™ 33 3.5 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

3.5
603 reviews
4
Cleanliness
4
Sleep Quality
4
Value
4
Service
3.5
Location
4
Rooms
1

Terrible

Sunday, April 14, 2019, Hafnarfjordur, Iceland, 766rakel_

We came from Iceland with a group of young gymnast’s competing. The hotel is in middle of nowhere, only possible to buy something at the hotel on overpriced prices. Poor service in receiption, hotel m…

We came from Iceland with a group of young gymnast’s competing. The hotel is in middle of nowhere, only possible to buy something at the hotel on overpriced prices. Poor service in receiption, hotel manager mrs Annelie was very rude and did not fix the rate/offer the group had got before entering and did nothing to assist to get it fixed. WE live on the 21st century and you could easily fixed what we talked to you about at the front desk and refund us and charge correct price but NO you did not. Do not bother to make excuses for your LAIM service. Our group and all groups from now on from Iceland will never stay with you again THAT’s a promise. Rooms were by the way TERRIBLE.

Owner Response

Monday, April 29, 2019

Hi 766rakel_, thank you so much for your review. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. On the other hand we do feel that this don’t really give a full spectrum of the situation. When traveling in a group we always provide a specific reference-number to be used for further bookings; when these are missing we unfortunately can’t see that you’re part of a larger group booking, and will therefore provide an individual offer. The offer sent was accepted in writing by your contact person. It is very unfortunate to hear that you thought I was rude, even tough you never spoke to me in person. I know that you talked to several of my serviceminded colleges, and it is unfair to call them rude, just beacuse they didn't change the prices on the spot. As you also describe, we did have a signed contract to commit to. If you have any questions regarding this booking you can always contact our sales departement or me directly, otherwise we suggest you take this up internally with you contactperson :) With kind regards Annelie Tell General Manager Quality Hotel 33 annelie.tell@choice.no

Read more
1

Expensive, dirty and lack of hospitality

Sunday, April 14, 2019, Hafnarfjordur, Iceland, agustaiarnardottir

Location is bad. No restaurants or anything entertaining nearby. Industrial area and very difficult to walk in this neighbor hood. Saturday evening the restaurant at the hotel, the only restaurant in…

Location is bad. No restaurants or anything entertaining nearby. Industrial area and very difficult to walk in this neighbor hood. Saturday evening the restaurant at the hotel, the only restaurant in the area, and bar was closed without any notification because of a private party. No holders where for the luggage in the rooms and the so called closets where very little and tight. In the bathroom there was mold and dirty in the shower and no shampoo nor conditioner just bath soap. No towel to put on the floor to come out of the shower. Everything at the hotel was very expensive. The service from the managers at the hotel was rude and as they said directly to us "the customer is not right". It was impossible to get to speak to someone that was in charge or could take decisions. I have never experienced such a lack in hospitality in my travel around the world where everywhere else I have got the feeling that managers wants to help their guests and wants satisfied guests to leave. I was very unsatisfied when I left and I think they don't really care at all.

Owner Response

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Hi agustaiarnardottir, thank you for your review! Looking for anything within walking distance you can always contact us in the reception. We have several restaurants and shops nearby, and nice parks as Peer Gynt-parken at Løren. We're sad to hear you didn't find any shampoo or conditioner in the room, I'll take this up with our housekeeping-department. Our rooms have different facilities according to room category, if you need more closet space or table room we can highly recommend booking the Superior-room, where you also get a huge bath tub to comfort yourselves with. :) We're unsure which situation you're referring to, stating it was impossible to get in touch with the management, as we've contacted and talked to you several times during your stay here at the hotel. You have had meetings with the reception manager, represent from the management team, the booking department etc. If you have any more questions regarding this specific booking this you can always contact us by e-mail. Kind regards, Ina Knutsen Marketing & Communications Coordintaor

Read more
1

No more Quality Hotel chain for me, ever!

Tuesday, April 02, 2019, , SifH5

Not sure how this Hotel earned its stars. -- There is no closet or drawers to store your clothes. There is not a single shelf or table room in the restroom for your belongings. The paint is flaking o…

Not sure how this Hotel earned its stars. -- There is no closet or drawers to store your clothes. There is not a single shelf or table room in the restroom for your belongings. The paint is flaking off the ceiling ? mold. -- Location is in an industrial area in the middle of the nowhere and nothing is within walking distance. -- The hotel manager was hard to reach, inflexible and clearly not there to assist the customers.

Owner Response

Thursday, April 04, 2019

Hi SifH5, thank you for your review! Our rooms have different facilities according to room category, if you need more closet space or table room we can highly recommend booking the Superior-room, where you also get a huge bath tub to comfort yourselves with. Looking for anything within walking distance you can always contact us in the reception. We have several restaurants and shops nearby, and nice parks as Peer Gynt-parken at Løren. :) We're unsure which situation you're referring to, stating the management was hard to reach, as we've contacted and talked to you several times during your stay here at the hotel. You have had meetings with the reception manager, represent from the management team, the booking department etc. If you have any more questions regarding this spesific booking this you can always contact us by e-mail. Kind regards,

Read more
1

Bad service and very expensive

Monday, April 01, 2019, , Geirþrúður G

Very bad location, no supermarkets or restaurants nearby, the gym was awful, we had a problem with our booking and the hotel manager was very rude and promised she would contact us the next day and ne…

Very bad location, no supermarkets or restaurants nearby, the gym was awful, we had a problem with our booking and the hotel manager was very rude and promised she would contact us the next day and never did. They closed the only restaurant on the hotel at a Saturday night with out letting guests now. It was very expensive. I would never stay at this hotel again and never recommend it to anyone.

Owner Response

Tuesday, April 02, 2019

Hi Geirþrúður G, thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We’re sorry to hear about your experience, but also feel that this don’t really give a full spectrum of the situation. Our Top Floor Restaurant was unfortunately fully booked last Saturday, but our restaurant on the Main Floor was open all night with a bar. We do recommend that you book a table ahead next time, so you also get to enjoy the panoramic view over Oslo. If you’re looking for supermarkets we recommend taking the 4 minute stroll to “Risløkka Nærbutikken”. If you have any questions regarding the nearby area you can always contact us in the reception :) We're sorry you experienced our staff as rude, as this is not how we either experienced it ourselves nor meant it to be interpreted. As stated, we said we would check into the case, where we shortly after contacted your contact person explaining the situation regarding the booking. If you have any questions regarding this booking you can always contact us by e-mail :) Kind regards, Annelie Tell General Manager

Read more
1

Never again!!!

Monday, April 01, 2019, , 595elinm

The location on this hotel is in the middle of no where and in the middle of an industrial area with smoking chimneys all day long. The highway passes the hotel with a lot of noise so you are not able…

The location on this hotel is in the middle of no where and in the middle of an industrial area with smoking chimneys all day long. The highway passes the hotel with a lot of noise so you are not able to sleep with an open window. No restaurants or bars, not even a grocery store in the area so if you need something and do not want to go downtown you can buy some snaks at the hotel on a ridiculus price. The staff is rude, specally the manager and they do not commit to their offers made. This hotel is way to high priced and overestimated. I would never recommend a stay there to anyone that I know, not even my worst enemy.

Owner Response

Tuesday, April 02, 2019

Hi 595elinm, thank you so much for your review! We’re sorry to hear about your experience, but also feel that this don’t really give a full spectrum of the situation. Our Main Floor restaurant was open all night on Saturday, with a bar. On the 9th floor we do have our fantastic restaurant & bar Top Floor, where we do recommend that you book a table ahead to secure your space near the panoramic view over Oslo city center and Oslo Fjorden. We promise that you’ll see more than chimneys from here - at least we can’t see any nearby; but you'll see the grocery store named "Risløkka Nærbutikken". It’ll just take you 4 minutes to walk there. If you have any questions regarding the nearby area you can always contact us in the reception. :) When traveling in a group we always provide a specific reference-number to be used for further bookings; when these are missing we unfortunately can’t see that you’re part of a group booking, and will therefore provide an individual offer. The offer sent was accepted in writing by your contact person, we therefore do not understand what you mean by stating we do not commit to our offers. If you have any questions regarding this booking you can always contact our sales departement directly :) Kind regards Annelie Tell General Manager

Read more

Not a member? Get a discount of up to 25%

Not a member? Sign up to receive our newsletter and get a welcome discount of up to 25%

No, thank you!

Action you performed failed! Try again later.

Not a member? Get a discount of up to 25%
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve en email with great offers

2.564.366.000 25
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.