This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Norefjell Ski & Spa Norefjell ,  Norway

See all hotels in Norefjell, Norway
  • Spacious and bright restaurant at Norrefjell Ski & Spa Hotel in Norrefjell
  • Large indoor pool at Norrefjell Ski & Spa Hotel in Norrefjell
  • Stylish standard double room at Norrefjell Ski & Spa Hotel in Norrefjell

Norefjell Ski & Spa

Norefjell,  Norway

Winner of Norway's Leading Resort in 2020 at the World Travel Awards! Norefjell Ski & Spa has also been chosen as Norway's leading spa resort for many years, most recently in 2017. Ski-in/Ski-out available. About 90 minutes from Oslo.

Norefjell Ski & Spa 4 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

4
1238 reviews
4
Cleanliness
4
Sleep Quality
4
Value
4
Service
4.5
Location
4
Rooms
2

A bad experience

Tuesday, October 25, 2022, Oslo, Norway, Halkjel

We had booked a double room, but the room we got was more like a storage room. After some back and forth, we met a very welcoming member of staff who wondered if we wanted to upgrade to a suite or if…

We had booked a double room, but the room we got was more like a storage room. After some back and forth, we met a very welcoming member of staff who wondered if we wanted to upgrade to a suite or if we would rather have a nicer double room (why didn't we get a nice double room right away?). We chose to upgrade. In the evening we discovered that the back cushions in the sofa were missing and that the sofa was full of dog hair. We couldn't bear to complain one more time so we covered the sofa with duvets from one of the bedrooms. On Saturday we were looking forward to dinner, but the food on the buffet was far from what we had imagined. Sauces so salty that your throat hurt and a dessert table that looked like it came from the nearest rema store. Fortunately, the breakfast was mostly good. The following day, the food bar was the only place that served dinner and T-bone steak at NOK 450 was the only alternative to pizza and burger. The T-bone steak is the worst piece of meat I have ever been served and completely inedible. In addition, the meat was served on "a bed" of French fries, which were of course soggy and more reminiscent of mashed potatoes. But the food had been paid for and tipped in advance, so from the waiter there was only a "it should be like that". When we pointed out the sofa that was full of dog hair and missing back cushions at checkout, we were met with a shrug and "we'll have to look into that" before the total amount was entered. We have given feedback via email and have received a long explanation of why things are as they are, and an offer of a free upgrade to a suite on the next visit. As if there will be a next visit.

Owner Response

Thursday, November 03, 2022

Dear Rune, and thanks for taking your time to give us a review after your visit. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit with us.

Read more
1

Dissappointing

Wednesday, October 19, 2022, , brittak758

We came in the Danish holidays. Everything in ativities nearby was closed down for the winter. The pool and the nature was great. The service in the lobby was not very helpful. The activities the hote…

We came in the Danish holidays. Everything in ativities nearby was closed down for the winter. The pool and the nature was great. The service in the lobby was not very helpful. The activities the hotel advertised with e.g. the climbing wall and the Electric bicycles were not available. The card did not work to the playing room with the pingpong table and the staff could not help. So there was not much for the children to Play. The pizza and menu in matbaren was expensive but not very good- so all in all the visit was disappointing. Luckily the Weather was quite good, so we did some nice walking, but the activities the hotel advertised with that we had been looking forward to were all shut down and that was definitely not what we expected when booking. The fact that we even could not use the playroom after the first day did not make it better. The playroom is not even that great (many Electric machimes that cost money) but there was a ping pong table-although with defect and broken bats… So all in all- it looks great but has not much to offer in week 42.

Owner Response

Monday, October 24, 2022

Dear Britta - and thanks for taking your time go give us a review. We are sorry to read that you are not completely satisfied with your visit. I will try to explain a little here. We have a lot of activities at the hotel. Some of them are open year round (like spa, swimmingpool, gym, jaccuzis, playroom for kids, gamingroom and shuffleboard. Other activities like for instance climbing is normally open during weekends and during vacation periods were we have lots of leisure guests staying with us - and it can be open for special occasions when a group books it. Regarding electric bicycles - this has been open now and until the end of October (the company running this - have just been a phone call away). And, when snow comes - we have one of the best ski areas in Norway with highest drop from top to bottom in Norway.

Read more
2

I don't know what all of the fuss is about

Monday, September 12, 2022, Stange Municipality, Norway, Carmen F

I was looking forward to this hotel, as I only read good about it. But wow- it was disappointing. There was old trash of bottles, snus and crisp packets laying outside the entrance of the hotel when…

I was looking forward to this hotel, as I only read good about it. But wow- it was disappointing. There was old trash of bottles, snus and crisp packets laying outside the entrance of the hotel when we entered. The spa and pool access was terribly confusing. We had no idea where to go?? The rooms were so dark.. there is no where near enough lighting. The buffet was awful.. they are clearly under staffed! Also, not trained correctly. Tables were just being piled up with dirty dishes that weren't being cleared. We had to wait and wait and wait for our drinks... The buffet also feels grimey. And not clean at all! I've actually never felt so grossed out by a hotel buffet in my life. The entire hotel feels like it needs to be refurbished. Everything feels worn in. I really don't know what the fuss is all about? I won't recommend this hotel and unfortunately won't be coming back. The only positive thing I can say is that the rooms and pool area where clean.

Owner Response

Monday, October 10, 2022

We are sorry to read about your feeling after your stay - however glad to see that you enjoyd the pool area and cleanliness. We hope you will give us another chance and try us again.

Read more
5

Thanks

Friday, August 19, 2022, , heasyyan

I would like to extend my thanks to the hotel staff from the reception and hospitality, one of the most beautiful hotels I visited in Norway. I highly recommend it, away from the noise of cities and i…

I would like to extend my thanks to the hotel staff from the reception and hospitality, one of the most beautiful hotels I visited in Norway. I highly recommend it, away from the noise of cities and in the picturesque nature. Everything was beautiful in the hotel. A small party was requested and implemented, especially the employee Resepsjon///Eirin Because he is the one who made the request and I would like to thank him and I will visit again. Thank you all ‫

Owner Response

Friday, August 19, 2022

Thanks a lot for your kind response. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, our service and the hotel. Thanks for taking your time to give us feedback here on Tripadvisor. Welcome back to Norefjell Ski & Spa

Read more
2

Not the place for a couples getaway.

Monday, August 01, 2022, , Jessica H

This is not the place to go if you want a romantic getaway, despite what the website shows. Kids everywhere. There is a climbing wall in the middle of the lobby. I love climbing and kids but was looki…

This is not the place to go if you want a romantic getaway, despite what the website shows. Kids everywhere. There is a climbing wall in the middle of the lobby. I love climbing and kids but was looking for a romantic getaway as the website said. It is not that. It is for families with kids. Food Only pizza restaurant available first night and buffet second. No other option. Drinks So the bar closed at 2 pm. Check in was at 4pm so we were not able to enjoy the bar. And we found out that is doesn’t open for 2 days. So our entire time here, the bar is closed. This was not advised to us in advance. At pizza restaurant you can get beer and wine. You can’t even get a simple vodka and soda. Spa Beautiful to look at. Outdoor jacuzzi is nice. But you have to pay to get in. And if you want a couples treatment you have one option ONLY. They won’t accommodate other treatments in a joint room, despite the fact the hotel is practically empty. Breakfast No decent coffee. And they only had meats and cheeses. No smoked salmon or fish. No option to toast bread. The main pool area is nothing like the photos. It is noisy and full of kids. If you want time away you have the spa area and that is it. We asked for a refund and were refused one. This was 10 min after we arrived. Ladies at front desk were nice. So was pizza guy. But they had limited ability to help as they can open the bar nor provide a restaurant for a nice romantic dinner. I am so disappointed. Haven’t been away from kids with hubby in years. Spent a lot of money on this and didn’t get what was marketing on website. Note: this was during summer. So it may be different in winter. And would be great for families who rent a suite. For couples wanting romance, don’t go.

Owner Response

Monday, August 01, 2022

Dear Jessica Thanks for taking your time to give us feedback after your stay. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the experience. All our opening hours are posted on our website. And, since you were arriving on a Sunday - it is quite normal for hotels and restaurants not to have all facilities open on Sundays. The restaurant Matbaren is open 7 days a week and Restaurant 815 have been open Monday to Saturday. During the summer with buffet, since that is what most guests wants during summer. The bar in Matbaren is also open 7. days a week with possibilities to sit both inside and outside - and you can also bring your drink to the lobby if preferred. In our spa we have 18 years age limit - so this is a perfect retreat where children is not allowed. We hope to see you again - either as a couple or with children. Norefjell Ski & Spa is such a large hotel that it should fit for most visits. However, check our website for info regarding opening hours - most is open year round - but it can be limited for instance on Sundays.

Read more

Get up to 25% discount!

No, thank you!

Please try again

Get up to 25% discount!
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve en email with great offers

2.564.413.004 26
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.