This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

THE THIEF Oslo ,  Norway

See all hotels in Oslo, Norway

THE THIEF

Oslo,  Norway

A little islet, a sea of experiences. Boasting Oslo's great location at Tjuvholmen, near the Astrup Fearnley Museum, THE THIEF steals its guests away from the daily grind. We offer 116 rooms and suites, all with tailored solutions and unique features.

THE THIEF 4.5 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  
THE THIEF

91% of travellers recommend this hotel

Based on 1545 traveller reviews
5
Cleanliness
5
Sleep Quality
4
Value
4.5
Service
4.5
Location
4.5
Rooms
5

Excellent service and drinks

Sunday, April 23, 2017, Lausanne, Switzerland, Richter1984

The Thief bar is the only bar that I know in Oslo that makes high quality drinks and served by an excellent staff. Only comment is their Vesper is made using martini bianco instead of the original in…

The Thief bar is the only bar that I know in Oslo that makes high quality drinks and served by an excellent staff. Only comment is their Vesper is made using martini bianco instead of the original ingredient Lillet Blanc. But to their defense this bottle cannot be found anywhere in Norway. Highly recommended
Read more
4

Mixed bag of excellence and unexpected shortcomings

Sunday, April 23, 2017, Europe, EuroTravelator

In short: the design trumps function which may be forgiven on a short stay but becomes an issue for a little longer. If you are coming for 1 night, I would recommend it. For 2 maybe, and for 3+ defini…

In short: the design trumps function which may be forgiven on a short stay but becomes an issue for a little longer. If you are coming for 1 night, I would recommend it. For 2 maybe, and for 3+ definitely not, unless you travel very light and don't mind weak showers—the area is worth it. It is a modern, well-decorated hotel in a nice location, surrounded by water, futuristic architecture, art galleries, and good (and also very expensive) restaurants. Excellent public transport is within 3-10 minute walk. Rooms are lush with pillows, rugs and trinkets, making them feel warm, but also a bit crowded: the rooms are TINY! We were upgraded to one of the largest rooms, with a separate bedroom, and it was impossible to open the wardrobe door and to be able to pass in front of it, as the bed was in the way, so unpacking was a chore. The living room was spacious enough, but it should have been the other way round. There was very little space in the wardrobes, and much useful space was taken with 9 decorative pillows and throws placed there for sale... My other gripe is that the shower pressure/flow was much too low to give you the "aaahhhww" feeling in the morning. It looked great but worked just OK—good design, poor function. Bed was very comfortable, but the duvet was too narrow for 2 people: it was less than the width of the bed, so a night-time tug-of-war ensued. One pillow (per person) was much too small, the other one was much too large, compared to other hotels and my own. Breakfast was very good and worth getting up for. Eat a lot in the morning to save some cash in the afternoon. The same restaurant does dinner, but that was only OK, not as special as anything in the nearby restaurants. The service was painfully slow: ours and another table had to repeatedly ask for service to come to take orders or deliver the bill. Fitness centre is good but it does not have a rowing machine. Swimming pool is very nice indeed, but does not open until 8am, so no chance for a morning swim before work. The spa is good. I look forward to when it gets updated, hopefully taking some of these observations into consideration as many of these issues (duvet, pool hours) could easily be fixed.
Read more
5

Lots of art in the hotel.

Saturday, April 22, 2017, Stavanger, Norway, Brit G

Lots of art to see and experience at the hotel. Very friendly service and the hotel is in the middle of Oslo city. The hotel is located at Aker Brygge and the sea, theater, shopping and a beautiful vi…

Lots of art to see and experience at the hotel. Very friendly service and the hotel is in the middle of Oslo city. The hotel is located at Aker Brygge and the sea, theater, shopping and a beautiful view of the castle is seeing from the hotel. Luxurious and expensive - but an nice experience.
Read more
5

Outstanding waterfront hotel

Saturday, April 22, 2017, Virginia Beach, Virginia, Beachfred

This is my go to place in Oslo. It is not cheap, but its location right in the water and its modern, clean design make it a beautiful place and a comfortable stay. The staff is outstanding. The restau…

This is my go to place in Oslo. It is not cheap, but its location right in the water and its modern, clean design make it a beautiful place and a comfortable stay. The staff is outstanding. The restaurant does a very nice breakfast. It is located a bit further away from city center than many other hotels, but I enjoy walking so it doesn't bother me. You can still comfortably walk to the National Theater in 15 minutes and to the Central Train Station in 25 minutes.
Read more
5

Perfect stay at the Thief in Oslo

Thursday, April 20, 2017, London, United Kingdom, Gordon C

I stayed at the Thief for 3 nights. Every bit of it was perfect. Location: right in the water front of very trendy and buzzing Tjuvholmen. I paid the extra to get a sea view which was awesome. Totall…

I stayed at the Thief for 3 nights. Every bit of it was perfect. Location: right in the water front of very trendy and buzzing Tjuvholmen. I paid the extra to get a sea view which was awesome. Totally worth it. The Modern Art Museum and seaside sculpture park were only 3 minute walk from the hotel. There were also lots of interesting bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. The ferry to Bygdøy was a 10 minute walk along the harbour. Local buses and metro were also accessible on foot. Room: very trendy design but also incredibly comfortable. The bed was really plush. The Nespresso machine was a very nice amenity. Breakfast: amazing! Both the buffet and the cooked items from the kitchen were very good quality and tasty. Try the freshly made eggs Benedict cooked upon each order! They were the best I'd ever had. People: I simply couldn't praise them more. Everyone in the hotel was so friendly and welcoming. It really made me feel immediately at home. From reception to restaurant to housekeeping, all the staff were amazing. It wouldn't be fair to name some and leave the others out. I had such a great time in Oslo and the Thief Hotel was one of the highlights. I can't wait to go back.

Owner Response

Friday, April 21, 2017

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have some splendid views across the Oslo Fjord / harbour and our roof top restaurant has the best possible view across the city and Fjord . Once again The Bed gets a mention and this has been a recurring theme since the opening of the hotel . Your comments concerning the staff were a pleasure to read and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues Wishing you a warm , colourful Spring and looking forward to your return Dominic Guest Relations Manager The Thief

Read more

Sign up for newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter and get our best offers

No, thank you!

Action you performed failed! Try again later.

Sign up for newsletter
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve en email with great offers

2.470.234.000 25
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.