Strike in the hotel industry.

Some of our hotels in Norway can be partially or fully closed during the strike. #LINK_ENG# for more information to see if your hotel stay can be affected.

 

This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

See all hotels in Holmsbu, Norway – book now
  • The entrance at Spa & Hotel Holmsbu
  • The amazing view of the harbour and boardwalk at Spa & Hotel Holmsbu
  • Spa treatment room at Spa & Hotel Holmsbu

Holmsbu Hotel & Spa

Holmsbu,  Norway

Holmsbu Hotel & Spa opened in the summer of 2003 as Norway's first spa and lifestyle hotel, beautifully situated between two fjords and just an hour from Oslo. A haven for relaxation and reflection as well as conferences and different activities.

Holmsbu Hotel & Spa 4 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa

70% Travellers recommended this hotel

Based on 160 traveller reviews
4
Cleanliness
4
Sleep Quality
3.5
Value
4
Service
4.5
Location
4
Rooms
3

Nice view of the sea

Friday, April 29, 2016, Oslo, Norway, Anna B

Spent one night at Holmsbu Hotel & Spa for a conference. The view from the restaurant was lovely, but our conference room might as well have been in a basement, as there wasn't one window in the room.…

Spent one night at Holmsbu Hotel & Spa for a conference. The view from the restaurant was lovely, but our conference room might as well have been in a basement, as there wasn't one window in the room. My room was very large, with a fully equipped kitchen, dining table, living area and bedroom. The room was a little dated, and especially the beds had seen better days. The biggest negative was the food. The set-up for lunch was hopeless, as the buffet area was way to small for a group our size. I also found the selection to be rather poor, and their bread was awful.
Read more
4

Beautiful location

Friday, April 29, 2016, Oslo, Norway, Snublemannen

The hotel is in a very beautiful location, I was there for a Conference and overall I enjoyed my stay. The room was large, I had a seperate bedroom. The lunch was ok, I felt the selection could have…

The hotel is in a very beautiful location, I was there for a Conference and overall I enjoyed my stay. The room was large, I had a seperate bedroom. The lunch was ok, I felt the selection could have been better, but it was ok. Not awardwinning. The staff overall was helpful and Nice. For the nagatives: my bathroom door had a hole in it, not all the way through, but like someone had hit it from the inside, and there was water damage on the bottom. Under the tap in the bathroom there was some Brown stuff running Down. I touched, thinking it was rust, but it came off, so the cleaners had just not wiped it, for a loooong time. I got a double bed, but I felt like I was sliding to the middle of the bed (between the two single matresses). I think they have had their share of use... I enjoyed the bathtub, I enjoyed the dinner, the view. Overall I was very happy. But the age is starting to tell.
Read more
5

Perfect!

Thursday, March 24, 2016, Oslo, Norway, Chorini

I was excited about visiting Holmsbu, as I knew the location was by the sea, and the pictures online looked wonderful. This was our first visit here. Well, what can I say? I am absolutely thrilled a…

I was excited about visiting Holmsbu, as I knew the location was by the sea, and the pictures online looked wonderful. This was our first visit here. Well, what can I say? I am absolutely thrilled about writing this review, as I could not have asked for a better relaxing break, away from the hustle and bustle in Oslo, and only 1 hour drive from the capital! We got an incredible deal, as it was the quiet days leading up to Easter, and most Norwegians go up in the mountains for their Easter holiday. I was visiting Holmsbu Hotel & Spa together with my best friend, my teenage daughter and my friend's teenage daughter, we decided to rent a sea-cabin ("sjøbod") right next to the sea. Our expectations were met, as we walked in to our little cottage, we were all stunned by its location! So so charming, with light colours and nautical seaside coastal living interiors, ocean view, and right next to the sea! In fact, you could not get any closer to the water! Stunning views, and we loved relaxing on our little terrace, watching the sun go down. We took advantage of our "Easter-family-package," which included visits to the swimming pool, steam room, the sauna and the outside jacuzzi. The pool area was clean, lots of space, with a very relaxing atmosphere. During the two nights we had, we paid visits to the restaurant on both nights as well as enjoying breakfast in the mornings. The food was delicious both nights, the fish soup was excellent as our starter followed by a beautiful & tender calve culotte (beef.) The second night I had the best halibut I have ever tasted, it was fantastic! The food, the location, our charming sea cabin, all in all this has been a memorable stay and we are definitely coming back! But what made our stay so special was the warm, genuine and friendly hospitality by the staff! The lovely ladies in the reception: Emilie - thank you so much for your hospitality, and for letting us extend our stay, as we loved being there so much! The waiters in the restaurant were all lovely and helpful, a big thanks to Martina, Henriette and Sergio who looked after us and spoilt us both evenings! You excelled - we loved our evenings relaxing in the restaurant, with the best view to the ocean. Please bring our gratitude to the chefs and the kitchen staff! My warmest recommendations to Holmsbu Hotel & Spa, I will definitely return!
Read more
3

Great spa treatment and views but "Fawlty Towers" with the service

Monday, March 07, 2016, Lillestrom, Norway, fam1hes

We stayed in a junior suite from Saturday to Sunday 05.03.16 - 06.03.16. We arrived a bit early but we were still able to check in which was very nice. ROOM: The suite was lovely, clean, very large,…

We stayed in a junior suite from Saturday to Sunday 05.03.16 - 06.03.16. We arrived a bit early but we were still able to check in which was very nice. ROOM: The suite was lovely, clean, very large, with 2 bathrooms - 1 with a bathtub, living room and kitchen, and a balcony with views of the harbor and fjord. SPA: We each had a classic massage at the spa Positives: -The treatment at the spa was excellent. - Great with outdoor jacuzzi (especially in winter) - Great views Negatives: -The pool and spa area could have done with a better clean (hair and gunk visible in the filters at the side of the pool - still there the morning after) - The steam sauna did not work - Missed having a quiet area to lay and relax in - The brochure said no children under 16 but was not the case - You have to walk through the reception area to get to the spa - some may be uncomfortable doing this in a bathrobe and slippers. DINING (dinner): We had booked dinner with a set menu at 18.30 as we were told that this was the only table available, even though the restaurant was not full when we left. Positives: - Views - Soup starter was very good Negative: -Service (see below) The "Fawlty Towers" experience started..... The waitress came and took our order; we ordered the meat menu and as my husband said "we'll have a Prosecco to start with before the food". Well the drink came at the same time as the starter, 10 seconds after finishing the starter it was cleared away and 30 seconds after that we were served the main course - still with Prosecco in our glasses. There was no time to say anything as the waitress was gone as soon as the plates hit the table, so no red wine with dinner. The same thing happened again with dessert. So we ended up with 1 glass of Prosecco for the whole meal, but my husband did manage to get a coffee from another waitress. After that whirlwind of a meal we had to wait ages to finally get the attention of someone so we could sign the bill. BAR: Positive: - Nice atmosphere Negative: - Service (see below) We went out of the restaurant to the bar to have a nightcap. the bar is small, and not very long at all, but still my husband stood there alone for 5 minutes while the bartender surfed the internet on his phone. My husband raised his voice to call over to me that he was probably on Facebook and the bartender still didn't react. My husband raised his voice again and said "I hope it's something serious your looking at!" - then the bartender reacted (woke up) by saying "No, if it was serious I would be crying" (???). We finally got our drinks but the bartender was never in the bar: he went into the restaurant a while, then over to the reception to chat with what looked like the manager (assuming this as she had key cards around her neck, and was sitting in the office behind the reception the next morning) - but it was obviously not a business chat. People were waiting at the bar. And waiting.... When the bartender was there you had to stick your head behind the wall or knock to get his attention as his phone was obviously way more important than the customers. And the whole time the manager was in clear view but never reacted, although she did come over in the end to tell him to move his car - so he promptly disappeared again. SUMMARY: Great location with fantastic views, above average rooms and excellent spa staff. The service at the reception was good but we still left with the feeling that the manager and serving staff really just didn't care about the customers at all, which really brought the whole experience down.

Owner Response

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Dear fam1hes. Thank you for choosing to guest Holmsbu Hotel & Spa. We greatly appreciate that you chose to come to us . It is very gratifying to read that you were happy with the room you got. It is unfortunately not as nice to read about your experience in the restaurant and the bar. That's not how we want to appear. I promise you that our employees are not allowed to use Facebook during work hours. This was supposed to never have happened. We apologize ! All our receptionists use keycards around their neck , so it was probably one of those who was at work that night. I am glad that you were also pleased with the efforts the reception. We hope that the impression was good enough that you want to come back to us. You are most welcome anytime. Best regards Stine Engen, hotelmanager

Read more
5

Gem of a place

Monday, February 22, 2016, London, United Kingdom, WestLondonDiner

What a gem of a place. When we arrived we found out, that we had been upgraded to a cottage. The astonishment on our faces when we found this out at no extra cost. We knew our trip would be an even am…

What a gem of a place. When we arrived we found out, that we had been upgraded to a cottage. The astonishment on our faces when we found this out at no extra cost. We knew our trip would be an even amazing one and we will be forever grateful to the person who made that decision. We still don't know why, but we are assuming it was a quiet week. From front of house, reception, housekeeping, breakfast and restaurant team, and senior female manager (sorry didn't get your name) they were all magnificent. Very helpful, kind and polite. They would warm the milk for our daughter in the mornings. Little things like this made our stay even more lovely. The cottage is comfortable, modern, clean, spacious and up to date. The vicinity is well maintained with staff that care. It even had a dishwasher. Just like home. It was like being at home. The cottage can easily fit a family of 6. Staff were attentive and always on hand to help. We didn't use the spa but the whirlpool and pool were of a decent size and good for a dip. Pool isn't deep. Breakfast was a fantastic array of choice and we were never disappointed. Choice of cheeses, sliced meats, salads, pastry, pancakes, breads the list is endless. Well done. We ate twice in the restaurant and we weren't overly impressed. We liked it but it wasn't wow. We had a 3 course meal. Starters were small, mains were of a good size. Beef was very tender and tasty. Desserts were ok. Second time we had a pizza and chicken Caesar salad. The Caesar element of the dish was long gone. This wasn't a chicken Caesar, but a (tasty) chicken salad. My pizza was good. Our expectation of a spa hotel would of been to of had at least a choice of 3 or 4 healthy super salads. The menu was limited and little boring. All in all 5 out of 5. If I could give more I would. Thank you.

Owner Response

Sunday, March 06, 2016

Dear WestLondonDiner. Thank you for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor. It is very nice to know that you appreciated the upgrade of their room . It's also very nice to hear that you had a good time with us. Thanks for great words . Hope to see you back at Holmsbu Hotel & Spa. Best regards Stine Engen, Hotelmanager

Read more
2.311.63.000 23

Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Enter it here. If you want to do a booking with bonus points or a corporate agreement, please sing in.

Save
Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room

Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

OK