This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Quality Hotel™ Ålesund Alesund ,  Norway

See all hotels in Alesund, Norway

Quality Hotel™ Ålesund

Alesund,  Norway

The Quality Hotel Ålesund boasts a central location near the harbour within easy reach of shops, restaurants and nightlife. The hotel has 131 bright and modern rooms that offer stunning views of the fjord. Ideal for business and leisure travellers.

Quality Hotel™ Ålesund 4 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

4
626 reviews
4
Cleanliness
4
Sleep Quality
4
Value
4
Service
4.5
Location
4
Rooms
4

Quiet hotel, helpful staff, good breakfast

Thursday, May 23, 2019, Ankara, Turkey, Narkozcu

Very nice hotel overlooking the sea. Our concierge at the front desk kindly called the car rental company at the sirport and booked our rental car for us. The hotel was very nicely decorated, but our…

Very nice hotel overlooking the sea. Our concierge at the front desk kindly called the car rental company at the sirport and booked our rental car for us. The hotel was very nicely decorated, but our room was very small. We kept hitting our suitcases. The bed was comfortable. The duvet could be a bit larger; we had to compete for it. There is also a free car park conveniently located near the hotel.

Owner Response

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Dear Guest, Thanks a million for the nice review from your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that our receptionist was helpful with the booking of a rental car. Regarding the rooms, the smallest rooms are around 16 square meters and the larger ones around 20-25 square meters. The family rooms and suites are of course bigger. In scandinavia, the beds are made with two separate duvets normally, but in the low season, many hotels use only one in the bed and put the other on the shelves. This is a environmental policy, since the rooms are used mainly by one person. We do apologize if the bed was not prepared for two, this is not the routines. I will forward this message to the housekeeping department. Thanks again and you are most welcome back sometime in the future! Regards from Aina Aalen Bjerkvik/General Manager

Read more
3

Just average at best

Thursday, May 16, 2019, Toronto, Canada, joxw

We only stayed for one night and overall it was average but a few things definitely made it worst. There aren’t a lot of options in the area so don’t come in with expectations (even at the price point…

We only stayed for one night and overall it was average but a few things definitely made it worst. There aren’t a lot of options in the area so don’t come in with expectations (even at the price point which is already pricey) that you will get amazing accommodation. Beware of parking! This was one of the most frustrating things, the hotel does not offer parking. They misleading state that there is parking for a price (around 200NOK) and say that the parking lot is owned by a 3rd party...which is all good and fine because we were okay to pay the price. HOWEVER, when we arrived we find out that this lot fits basically 8 cars because a handful of the other ones are reserved and it was all full anyway. We drove around a bunch of times in the area to try and find a spot, front desk at this hotel was NOT HELPFUL to say the least. We needed up going to the front desk of the hotel across the street from this one and they actually pointed us to the city parking lot up the street of the hotel on the left. Which is free after 4pm before 8am Avoid on street parking, generally they are already full but we saw at least 5 parking tickets for those who parked on street. Unless you are familiar with the area and know parking laws in alesund, best to avoid. Room is basic, outdated as well but manageable. You have to also lock your door with the keycard, not like typical hotels where once you close your door, it locks. Would be also great for hotel check in staff to also inform guest of this as a nice courtesy...we realized it ourselves. Breakfast was good, nice options but standard we learned in Norwegian hotels.

Owner Response

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Dear Guest, First of all, we apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your trip to Ålesund, although most of them were not in our hands. To mention the option of hotels first, there are actually 9 city hotels and these are quite nice compared to the scandinavian standard. They might have been pricey since the high season is on our doorstep, but this you were most likely aware of. When it comes to the parking issue, we should have given you more advice upon arrival where you can find spaces, but not necessarily for free. I will further this to our receptionists and urge them to be more attentive. There is a huge indoor parking garage built into the city mountain that contains more than 900 places. Here you will always find a space. I reckon you will find this if searching on the internet. You are right about our parking lots outside the hotel, they are most likely full and managed by the parking company in town as are most of the parking lots in the city. You are describing our rooms as outdated, and I find that somewhat strange since they were all renovated in 2017. The doors are automatically locked after a few seconds, just to let you get inside again if you mistakenly left the room. We have these kind of incidents quite often, and that is the reason why they don't lock immediately. I am happy you found the breakfast good with nice options. Thank you for the review and you are welcome back to Ålesund if you will give us a second chance. Regards from Aina Aalen Bjerkvik/General Manager

Read more
5

A brief visit for Years meeting.

Thursday, April 11, 2019, Alesund, Norway, Neil03091947

Stopping for a short meeting today, this is the old Radisson Blu Hotel, with more facilities. The conference area is very good with modern equipment. Parking is a little bit of a challenge, but Aksla…

Stopping for a short meeting today, this is the old Radisson Blu Hotel, with more facilities. The conference area is very good with modern equipment. Parking is a little bit of a challenge, but Aksla Parking inside the mountain is only a few minutes walk away. Good standard, this group I use many times in Norway.

Owner Response

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Dear Neil, Thank you very much for the nice review from your meeting at our hotel recently. This is in fact the former Radisson Blu Hotel Ålesund, but from the 1st of September last year, we became a Nordic Choice Hotel and the rebranding to a Quality hotel took place. Our conference area is well equipped and quite modern. These facilities were refurbished in 2015 and soon they are planning to do the restaurant, lobby and reception area as well. The hotel will probably be ready with a new and modern design next winter. You are mentioning the parking issue, and this can be the case when our small parking lot is full. But the Aksla Parking is a good solution inn these cases. Thank you again and you are most welcome back! Best regards from Aina Aalen Bjerkvik General Manager

Read more
5

Excellent location and service , gorgeous view

Wednesday, April 10, 2019, Gainesville, Florida, 335lizzie2012335

We visited as family of 5 . Had great room size . Views of fjords were magnificent. Breakfast was delish . Got to experience close encounter of hurtigruten cruise arrival to port coming from fog and c…

We visited as family of 5 . Had great room size . Views of fjords were magnificent. Breakfast was delish . Got to experience close encounter of hurtigruten cruise arrival to port coming from fog and clouds like a magical appearance... Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff helpful and attentive. Will really recommend it

Owner Response

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Dear Lizzie, Thanks a million for your great review from your stay here with your family recently, this is highly appreciated! The Hurtigruten is indeed close and quite impressive when arriving the docs just next to the hotel, and must be one of the most popular motives to take pictures of in our city. Especially if you have a room located on the corner, you will have the best view! Thanks for your nice comment on the staff as well, this means a lot to us! Welcome back sometime in the future! Best regards Aina Aalen Bjerkvik General Manager

Read more
5

Wonderful stay

Sunday, March 24, 2019, Singapore, Singapore, Rain3332003

This hotel has exceeded my expectations. Reached the hotel 1hour plus earlier and was really pleased to be allowed to check in early so we can put our luggage after a long and exhausting flight and wa…

This hotel has exceeded my expectations. Reached the hotel 1hour plus earlier and was really pleased to be allowed to check in early so we can put our luggage after a long and exhausting flight and wash up before we can go out for a walk around the town. The front desk was really helpful in answering enquiries. Although the staff might be unsure of the taxi cost to attractions but she has tried her best. There is a taxi booking device right at the entrance which allows quick booking of taxi. Room was clean, well maintained and the junior suite has a really great view of the waterfront. All necessary amenities are provided including kettle, hair dryer as well as room slippers for all 3 of us. The breakfast area was small but compact with nice little touches like quotes and has sufficient and generous variety to satisfy our morning cravings before we move out. I personally love the great variety of fruits provided. Will definitely stay here again the next time i am in Alesund. Thank you for the great hospitality!
Read more

Not a member? Get a discount of up to 25%

Not a member? Sign up to receive our newsletter and get a welcome discount of up to 25%

No, thank you!

Action you performed failed! Try again later.

Not a member? Get a discount of up to 25%
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve en email with great offers

2.564.366.000 26
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.