This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Hotel Haven Helsinki ,  Finland

See all hotels in Helsinki, Finland

Hotel Haven

Helsinki,  Finland

Hotel Haven is an elegant hideaway in Helsinki next to the beautiful South Harbour and Market Square, and within easy reach of the Esplanade Park. Enjoy stunning seaview rooms, a range of conference facilities, exceptional restaurants and a legendary bar.

Hotel Haven 4.5 5
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating  

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating

4.5
1540 reviews
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Sleep Quality
4
Value
4.5
Service
5
Location
4.5
Rooms
5

Very good stay

Tuesday, January 12, 2021, , JAJxyz

Generally a very good visit during a trying time. Staff courteous, and acting responsibly. The room is very nice and quite spacious. Had a tiny hiccup with the HDMI port on my TV, but it was sorted v…

Generally a very good visit during a trying time. Staff courteous, and acting responsibly. The room is very nice and quite spacious. Had a tiny hiccup with the HDMI port on my TV, but it was sorted very quickly and in a very satisfactory manner. My only real issue with the room, a very minor one at that, is that there are no towel racks in the bathroom. The breakfast is also just so-so.

Owner Response

Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Dear JAJxyz, Thank you for choosing Hotel Haven as your home while visiting Helsinki, and sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to notice that your stay with us was pleasant. We truly hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as our guest. Meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in any way. I wish you a lovely new year 2021! Best regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven heidi.tarilo@hotelhaven.fi

Read more
3

Overpriced in relation to expectations

Monday, January 04, 2021, Helsinki, Finland, Helsinkiglobus

There was a slight wait at check-in with several people queuing to the front desk. The receptionist was probably somewhat new as she was not sure about some of the questions we asked. The service was…

There was a slight wait at check-in with several people queuing to the front desk. The receptionist was probably somewhat new as she was not sure about some of the questions we asked. The service was ok but nothing extortionary. Our room was a superior room on the 8th floor. The size was adequate for a superior, but the furniture of the room was surprisingly inadequate and simple. There was only 1 sofa, sofa table and 1 chair (1 chair only!) plus the bed even though there would have been room for a much ample and decorative furnishing. The sofa table was worn out and dirty with crumbs (see photo). The WC was good size and nicely designed. Water flow for the bathtub was slow with restricted hot water flow and it took ages to fill the bath with sufficient warm water. The bath being something we looked forward to as the hotel does not have sauna facilities. The air-conditioning unit in the ceiling was somewhat noisy and only provided cold air. Turned it off as it was winter. There was no in-room dining or room service which was a bit surprising for this class of a hotel. Maybe due to COVID – not sure. On the positives breakfast was served late until 12:00 noon. However, due to COVID you had to choose a breakfast slot in advance which felt bothersome as you wanted to relax and unwind and go for breakfast without pre-made schedules. Breakfast itself was the best part of the hotel experience. Set in the old (ex) Sundman’s restaurant the setting was refined and the breakfast assortment good and sufficient despite special orders (such as waffles) costing extra. The downstairs bar and lounge area is also great and refined with a wide range of drinks and whiskey assortments. All in all, a slight value-for-money (220€+ for a night) disappointment especially compared to expectations for a 4+ star design hotel. Biggest disappointments being the room furnishing and having no room service. Overall service was ok and friendly but didn’t stand out as this class of hotels should.

Owner Response

Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Dear Helsinkiglobus, Thank you for having stayed with us and for taking time to review us here. I am sorry to hear you had to queue for a while when checking in. Normally we try to make sure we have enough personnel during times when check-in time is busy, so that our guests would not have to wait for too long and to make sure there are not too many people in the area. Hopefully you did not have to wait for too long. It might be that the person who checked you in was our trainee - she does not yet know everything but is eager to learn and has great attitude. We do to train her at every turn. The pandemic has been harsh for our industry and we too have been forced to make some adjustments to our operations. One of these being limited opening ours for our bar and room service. We do, however, have room service from Wednesday until Saturday and this is provided for us from Restaurant Sue Ellen. They were on a Christmas break until 7th January, however. Still, we at reception are always happy to assist with ordering through delivery services or help with restaurant bookings. I do thank you for this feedback as we evaluate weekly how things are developing and if we need to make changes, in order to provide the best possible service for our guests. For the breakfast we decided to have these breakfast slots, as this is the only way we can assure there are not too many people in the room at the same time. At the moment there is a restriction set by the government that we can only have 75% of the capacity at the restaurant and bar. I thank you for the feedback regarding the room. We will go through the rooms and see if there are indeed changes to be made. We have weekly quality control rounds, where we evaluate the quality of the cleaning as well as furniture, also to see if an additional chair or perhaps lamps are needed. Should you have time, please do contact us to inform the room number you stayed at, so we can see what needs to be done in the room. The bath should not function as you mentioned – the faucet for filling the tub should have ample water pressure and the temperature normally gets very warm. We truly hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as our guest. Meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in any way. I wish you a lovely winter! Best regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven heidi.tarilo@hotelhaven.fi

Read more
5

Lovely hotel in the heart of Helsinki

Sunday, December 27, 2020, Helsinki, Finland, piritavirtanen

Haven is a beautiful hotel in Helsinki - my absolute favorite! I have both lived in this hotel and used it for work purposes, and it works perfectly for both. Haven's atmosphere is unique - when you s…

Haven is a beautiful hotel in Helsinki - my absolute favorite! I have both lived in this hotel and used it for work purposes, and it works perfectly for both. Haven's atmosphere is unique - when you step in, you step step in another world and forget your sorrows. Haven's rooms are beautiful and unique (there are also special rooms with very high sealings, glass paintings and curved windows), their spa products are the luxorious (the best in town, if you'd ask from me) and their furniture is colorful and unique. Their staff is very accommodating and Haven's breakfast is just lovely. Value for money is also much better than in other 5 star hotels in Helsinki. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a safe haven, a beautiful place to work or a unique stay in beautiful surroundings.

Owner Response

Sunday, January 03, 2021

Dear Pirita, We can not thank you enough for your kind words, it truly has been a pleasure having you here as our guest. I'll be sure to share your thanks with all the staff members. On behalf of our whole team Haven, I wish you the most amazing new year 2021! Let's hope it will a better one than it's predecessor. All the best, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven

Read more
4

Pre-dinner drinks by the fireplace

Monday, December 07, 2020, Helsinki, Finland, OliwaVasicek

My wife and I popped in for some champagne before dinner a few minutes away. A very good champagne menu at decent prices, along with one of the best (if not the best) whisky and rum selections I have…

My wife and I popped in for some champagne before dinner a few minutes away. A very good champagne menu at decent prices, along with one of the best (if not the best) whisky and rum selections I have seen in Helsinki. The bar is cosy and polished and we enjoyed the seats near the large (gas) fireplace, particularly given it was a chilly December night.

Owner Response

Monday, December 07, 2020

Dear Oliwa Vasicek I am delighted to read that you had a great experience at Hotel Haven's cozy bar. We appreciate your kind words and wish to welcome you for an overnight stay in the future as well. Next time don't just pop in, have a relaxing overnight as well. Kind regards John Wasserfall Night Manager

Read more
4

Tasty Afternoon Tea

Monday, November 16, 2020, Helsinki, Finland, Ainomarj

Finally we booked a table for Friday afternoon Tea at Haven Hotel. The dining room of the restaurant is a very fine space, altough the setting looked more like a hotel breakfast rather than afternoon…

Finally we booked a table for Friday afternoon Tea at Haven Hotel. The dining room of the restaurant is a very fine space, altough the setting looked more like a hotel breakfast rather than afternoon tea, which was a pity, as it affected the overall atmosphere of the evening. There are three options for the afternoon tea: the basic one, with a glass of champagne and the variety of cocktails designed to pair with the food. We went with the cocktail menu (60€) and found the cocktails very interesting and rather tasty. Menus (both food and cocktails) change weekly if I understood correctly. The afternoon tea setting was for two hours (4.15 pm to 6.15 pm) and we were a bit surprised as it took the whole two hours for us to finish the tea: the setting wasn't fully booked, there were several tables vacant in the dining room that evening. Still the service was a bit slow because we had to wait for the cocktails to arrive as they didn't serve them all at once (for obvious reasons). Nevertheless the food was excellent and that's worth the 4 stars I've given for the evening. The tray was full of tasty, high-quality bites that combined beautifully with the cocktails and the tea. Especially loved the orange-cranberry scones served to us that day. Sometimes these afternoon tea menus can leave one a bit hungry (or not entirely stuffed, more likely) but this one had certainly enough on it's plate! So I can definitely recommend to try Hotel Haven's Afternoon Tea, I'll also come again myself!

Owner Response

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your positive and kind words, and we of course take your disappointments to heart and will try to improve on them prior to your next visit. We are glad to hear you will visit us again and maybe next time we can welcome you for an overnight stay as well.

Read more

Sign up for newsletters - get up to 25% discount!

Sign up to receive our newsletter and get a welcome discount of up to 25%

No, thank you!

Please try again

Sign up for newsletters - get up to 25% discount!
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve en email with great offers

2.564.402.003 26
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Your booking code has been saved

The booking code is added.

Please note

Are you sure you want to change language?

Please note that if you have initiated a booking or logged in to My page, you will have to start over.